About Bullies

Go down 
AuthorMessage
EarlofLeicester

Male
Number of posts : 344
Registration date : 2007-05-27

PostSubject: About Bullies   Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:59 am

Bullies. I don't like them. And while much of the USA (when it comes to world politics) is only anti-Bush and anti-war (Americans typically only see America and their own agendas), I realize the world is more complex than that. One thing I have seen IMHO and it really has to be humble because I'm no expert is that my viewpoint of some of the leaders of the Muslim world are bullies. (Yes, yes, the same cane be said of leaders in the West, I don't deny that!) But one act bothers me and it's not even aimed at America. It deals with an incident around late 2005 when a newspaper in Denmark printed political cartoons criticizing Muslim belief. Which turned out to be a move that evoked a violent response from Muslims, sacking and burning Danish embassies. That violence is bad enough, but the world leadership through the UN criticized Denmark for not taking action against the newspaper. My thought? What about action against those who burned and attacked Danish diplomats and staff? Why do we always have to pacify the aggressors with the big stick? In other words, the bullies. For this reason, I have to say that I personally support Denmark.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Prof. Akers

Male
Number of posts : 120
Registration date : 2007-05-23

PostSubject: Re: About Bullies   Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:05 am

Think of how much it cost GB to protect Salman Rushdie when he published Santanic Verses - millions because a fatwa (death warrant) was declared by leading muslims.
This whole thing is part of why I'm happy to be an atheist.
I once read a quote by an American president (don't know who) and said something about 'tell the church the man goes to and I'm tell you the man'. Now that is frightening (just had to spell check that funny!).